Ven a ganef kisht darf men zich di tsein ibertseilen.

One Zionist’s View of Ron Paul

Presidential elections are in the air again…. During the last election cycle, Dr. Ron Paul’s views played heavily in the debates, even if as a candidate he was ultimately marginalized. Whether or not Ron Paul is good for Israel has been a question I’ve been asking myself since he announced his candidacy during the last election. Perhaps the views his son, Dr. Rand Paul will also come into play. From what I’ve read and heard, his views closely reflect those of his father, though he seems less flusterable, more articulate, not quite as quirky as his father. I will be paying attention to how he comes across vis-a-vis Israel and the Middle East.

Someone I sincerely hope to find in the fray is Colonel Allen West. Why couldn’t someone like him have been our first US President of color?? I could listen to that man speak all day long.

Back to Dr. Paul, I want to focus on him because though I agree with his stated views, I find myself extremely disturbed by many who claim to be a supporter — who are often “anti-Zionist” (read antisemitic), tending to blame Israel for all of the world’s problems. I will post more on my own experiences with these people and their warped view of reality in the future.

In the following article, “Ron Paul Should be the Zionist Choice for US President” by Shmuel Ben-Gad, Dr. Paul is quoted, “Yet, while we call ourselves a strong ally of the Israeli people, we send billions in foreign aid every year to some Muslim states that many Israelis regard as enemies. From the Israeli point of view, many of the same Islamic nations we fund with our tax dollars want to destroy the Jewish state. Many average Israelis and American Jews see America as hypocritically hedging its bets…. It is time to challenge the notion that it is our job to broker peace in the Middle East and every other troubled region across the globe…. ‘Peace plans’ imposed by outsiders or the UN cause resentment and seldom produce lasting peace…. The fatal conceit lies in believing America can impose geopolitical solutions wherever it chooses.” and then more presciently, George Washington, “The great rule of conduct for us in regard to foreign nations is, in extending our commercial relations, to have with them as little political connection as possible.”

And then the author’s conclusion, “It seems to me a Ron Paul presidency would be good for Israel and for the United States. Its foreign policy non-interventionism and it’s concern to protect national sovereignty would provide Israel with a greater impetus to increase its own independence and sense of national honor….Taking the long and deep view, Ron Paul is the Zionist choice.”

I agree with the author’s theory re foreign aid and a ceasing of efforts to impose from the outside various “peace plans”. They have all seemed more like a “war process” to me. This is the constitutional view, as I read the Constitution of the United States of America. And why would no foreign aid be good for Israel? This seems counter-intuitive.

This view is held by Ron Paul for several reasons, according to an interview on the subject of Israel and the North American Union:

The money Israel receives from the United States comes with an unacceptable price-tag for any self-respecting nation — sovereignty. For those who think Israel is populated by money leeches, eagerly shaking their tin cups, begging for more American dollars, many proud Zionists have been in favor of the views espoused by Ron Paul for at least the last 30 years.

Money always comes with a price tag.

1) Earning money costs time, effort, skill or all of the above.

2) Stealing money comes with the risk of jail time.

3) Borrowing money and the cost of doing so is a topic covered famously in Proverbs.

4) Gifts of money rarely come without hidden price-tags (called “strings”). This might be why true “tzedakah” is so precious. It’s rare.

5) Free government money is never free. By the time the true cost is discovered, it’s usually too late.

With these considerations in mind, it’s obvious that cutting the apron strings would be healthy for Israel. With no one to rely on but herself and her G-d, no other nation would think they have the right to impose detrimental policies on her, nor to tell her what part of her national historic homeland is hers by right, whether or not she must leave that land and expel her people, — no one except the Creator of the Universe, blessed be He. He has made His opinion clear on the matter. Taking His Word on the matter would bring immense peace not only to Israel, but the entire world.

As far as whether or not Ron Paul is or is not pro-Israel, alas, I am not a prophet, nor the daughter of a prophet. Other statements he has made, and especially statements many who support him have made, give me pause. Furthermore, I am skeptical of all politicians. In that spirit, I leave you with the following cliche, “Time will tell.”

2 responses

  1. lester

    interesting. it’s good that you can see how his policies could at least conceivably be good for israel even though he’s not bending over backwards to look like he’s their best friend. He has the smae opinin on everything, no taxpayer funded planning from DC. Why would he make an exeption to that if he thinks it is what works best on princple?

    There are lots of people on the left and right who are pro palestinian and anti israel and so forth, I used to be one of them. Ron Paul actually moderated my views on the issue. from being pro arab to just anti intervention.

    March 9, 2011 at 8:37 PM

    • BS”D – Thanks for visiting my blog lester. I love commenters, whatever their views (unless they get into flaming too frequently, that’s just boring) so please come back anytime.

      I agree with Dr. Paul re domestic issues. I really enjoy listening to his son, Rand. However, I will be keeping my eyes and ears open to hear how Rand Paul expresses himself concerning Israel. Ron Paul he has made a few comments here and there that are disturbing to me re Israel, seeming to reveal a certain antipathy. For instance, he was very upset about what was happening to the Lebanese during the last conflagration between Hizbullah and Israel, but didn’t, as far as I had read or heard, seem very upset over what was happening to the Israelis. I know his mentor on financial theory is Von Mises, who was a Jew (do I have that right?? — too lazy to check right now). However, a lot of antisemites really appreciated Karl Marx too, so that doesn’t necessarily mean anything.

      By the way, I am also pro-Arab. They are my cousins, and according to Jewish law, I am not permitted to denigrate them, nor do I care to do so. I do take issue with jihadis, who don’t necessarily have to be Arabs…just a small percentage of the Muslim world who ascribe to a very incorrect form of Islam. I think it’s horrible and a shame that the US has supported monstrous Arab dictators who oppress my Arab cousins. I know for a fact that many Arabs are pro-Israel, but can’t say so for fear of being murdered.

      March 9, 2011 at 11:44 PM

Leave a Reply

